Do Taiwanese people lack a sense of responsibility?

My mom once taught me „Red light means don’t cross the street!“ Well, either Taiwanese moms forgot to teach this to their kids or the kids forgot it after they became adults. However, crossing the street without looking is not the only thing I can notice, and together with other things I really wonder whether Taiwanese people maybe lack of a sense of responsibility.

First of all I should make clear that most of the situations I noticed take place in Taipei; so when I write about „Taiwanese“ in this article, I will probably just refer to „Taipei people“, since I really really hope that not every Taiwanese is acting like this. I just mentioned people who cross the street under red light. Some readers might now think that my opinion is rather ridiculous or that I am just a grumbler, but it’s not like that! If I’m in a hurry I also don’t care much about red lights, but what I see each day is not the same. Minquan Road in Taipei has a lot of side streets with big and small intersections and especially at small intersections, many people totally don’t care about red lights. I think it’s okay when there are absolutely no cars on the street, however, pedestrians sometimes force car drivers to brake because they walk across the street and that’s not okay. I usually complain about car drivers who don’t mind red lights, so I also have to complain about pedestrians who don’t mind red lights, quite fair isn’t it? The bottom line is, crossing the street without minding red lights can lead to dangerous situations….why the heck for saving 30 seconds of time bring others into trouble? Is one’s own security really such worthless?

I think….if adults put themselves in dangerous situations, it’s their thing, but I would like to give another example for irresponsible behavior: Many foreigners like to take pictures like these. The first time I saw a whole family riding on a scooter I also thought it’s pretty funny, however afterwards I think: Do these parents totally don’t care about their kids‘ safety??? Some friends told me that compared to cars, scooters are a better choice for people in Taiwan, because they are cheaper, more flexible, they are no parking problems and so on. That’s quite true, for adults it’s quite true, for school kids I’m already not that sure, and for babies it’s totally not okay!! However, each and every week, I see some mothers holding their small babies in their arms while driving with dad on a scooter and each time I see something like this I think: They must be totally nuts! I’m sorry, but I don’t have any understanding for people like this. I really pity kids with parents like that. I really hope, those parents will be punished and get shown pictures of small kids after a traffic accident….I don’t care much about adults who have no sense of responsibility, but parents who don’t have any sense of responsibility for their children are just criminal.

Compared to the last thing, the following is less severe, but I think still quite strange: Every evening on the streets of Taipei, I see at least one car driving completely without lights turned on. Why is that? I don’t believe that drivers simply forget to turn on the lights, since not turning on the light at the evening also means not being able to see the speedo, actually that’s quite obvious. I could understand when I would see this like once in a month, but every day? What’s the reason for this? Are such drivers just too stupid or incompetent?

I don’t know, but looking at these three examples I’m really worried about the security of Taiwanese people on the streets. Lack of a sense of responsibility paired with imbecility very probably leads to disaster. I think guardian angels in Taiwan must be pretty busy, however, I would personally not entirely rely on their protection. And you?

Schreibe einen Kommentar

