January 28th 2005

Got my hair cut yesterday and this time very short. It’s my contribution to the run-up to Chinese New Year’s tradition to leave old things behind and looking for the new to come…looks a bit strange maybe, however it’s just hair and will grow very fast, moreover it’s very convenient to get up in the morning without your hair messed up and looking like a 5-year-old toothbrush😉

January coming to the end quite soon and this is only my second and probably last entry this month. The last weeks I was quite busy in finding job offers and writing a lot of emails, I think it must be 40 or 50 right now. Tonight I will go to an interview and next week it seems that I have two more. It’s nothing countable yet, but at least more than nothing, the motto seems to be: No pain, no gain!

However, there’s always the problem that the work place is very far away from the place I live, the minimum seems to be 30 minutes by bus for one way, but on the average between 45 minutes and one hour, cannot change this fact, so once more: No pain, no gain!

Besides all of this demure facts, last week I found a way to stay three more months at least! My dad and I calculated the amount of tax refund I could expect for the last year. Because I paid taxes on a twelve months basis, but in fact only worked seven I’ll get quite a nice amount back from the taxman🙂 I consider it as a welcome bonus and maybe a sign to go on with my life over here. So yesterday I registered for three more months at the Language Center, which makes it 18900NT more to pay, so the money is really easy come and easy go😦 I hope the investment will work out, because I invest in myself and my future….I will find out soon anyway.

The country begins to focus on Chinese New Year now, it will be my second time after last year, when I was here on a two-week-vacation. Except the Language Center, the whole university has holidays since this week and walking over the campus is quite like walking over a graveyard…today I only saw three other people beside me! My teacher will go to Canada this weekend, so I also have two days off next week and the week after my 10-day-holiday will start.

I think February will also pass very soon, not only because it only has 28 days, but also because of Chinese New Year and Final Exams! When things will return normal, I think it already will be March or close to, hopefully the weather will be better then…right now it’s not warm, okay also not really cold, but however, it’s the kind if weather which is useful for nothing and…a day without the sun cannot be a sunny day! Have to go now, good luck to me and nice weekend for you🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

