January 17th 2005

I’m sorry that I didn’t write earlier, two and a half weeks of the new year already passed and I’ve been quite busy. So for this month I don’t think that I will write as much as in December. Right now I’m in the race of finding a good solution for continuing my stay in Taiwan. It isn’t over yet, but time really flies away, thus the race heats up with every new day passing by. However, currently I make my most basic experiences in Taiwan. And they are very oppositional.

Last week, I went to a meeting with a girl who was searching for a German tutor. We exchanged some emails before and I gave her a call to make sure where and when to meet and so on. For the Taipei residents: We were supposed to meet at Beitou Station, I’m living in Hsinchuang….this means a ride by bus and subway for more than one hour, I did it in 70 minutes, which is quite quick actually. I even asked my teacher to leave class 15 minutes earlier, so I could be on time and I was. But…no one was there to meet me! I was giving her a call, but her cell phone was switched off. I sent her test messages. Nothing. After some time of waiting I received the received status of the text messages, so I knew that she turned on her cell phone. I called again, but she didn’t answer and also stopped my call. I asked my girlfriend to call her and she even accepted the call, but when my girlfriend was asking her what was going on with the meeting she just hung up. Make your own opinion about it.

However, have to get over it. Last week Tuesday and Wednesday I did some private teaching in English and German and on Friday I had a job interview! Again, it was very far away from the place I live, but a company cannot disappear at least, I said to myself. So I took the ride early in the morning and was right on time again. The interview was held in English and Chinese and somehow it worked out for me. The company’s name is Acoustiguide, they provide audio-tours for museums and other famous public places, including Taipei 101. Well, I got the job and on Saturday I was standing at the observatory deck, which is at the 89th floor of the highest building in the world to explain how to use the audio-machine…..in Chinese most of the time. It’s quite easy, therefore the payment is quite low, but it’s definitely one of the coolest jobs you can ever get! And I think it’s a very good way to get in touch with other people. The 101 is a place worth for everyone to see…..locals and foreigners, old and young, private people and business people. For sure it’s not the solution at all and like I wrote, time is running away, but maybe some more of these strange hints of destiny will show me the way…uhh, quite pathetic again🙂

Have exam again tomorrow…it seems it will never stop. But currently many people say that my Chinese is quite good, well, let me say…..understandable somehow, however, still feels talking like crap, like a fish out of the water. Probably this is my own exaggerating self-criticism again, unless it’s not perfect it’s not good enough. Therefore, have to study now, see you later and visit Taipei 101 when you are here!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

