September 28th 2004

Happy Teacher’s Day and Happy Moon Festival!! Today is a double-holiday in Taiwan, the Teacher’s Day in honor of Confucius and his birthday on Sep. 28th and Moon Festival which is on the 15th day of the 8th lunar month, which coincidentally is also today. As the name indicates it’s everything about the moon, which should be the biggest and the brightest on this day. Families and friends are coming together to spend some hours in full harmony and completion (like the full moon), having barbecue and eating the various kinds of moon cake. There are many legends about the moon, which, depending on whom is telling, defer every time a little bit, but too many to write down here. If you are interested to read more about the Moon Festival I recommend you to go to webholidays.com.

Tomorrow I will complete the fifth week of staying in Taiwan, thus it is the longest time I ever have been away from my home. It’s still hard to make a review of everything what happened since I arrived here, at least there’s nothing I would regret about my decision right now, maybe I can give a detailed review when I pass my first monthly exam at school, because learning the language is still my top goal.

However, yesterday for example I had some very interesting conversations with people from Indonesia, Russia and Bolivia. It is kind of ridiculous that you meet people from far far away countries in a far far away country (….as seen from Germany), but this is what happens to me everyday and I enjoy it very much.

>>> The experience of sharing thoughts and opinions with people from all over the world is like a gift, for sure priceless and something you will remember for the rest of your life <<<

Confucius would be proud of me🙂 Happy holiday !

Schreibe einen Kommentar

